Indian Factor in ASEAN: Implications for Pakistan

Main Article Content

Iqbal Ahmed Qureshi
Raza Hussain Ghaloo


Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is regional alliance of Eight independent countries of Southeast Asia. It was founded in Bangkok in August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand. Brunei joined after attaining independence in 1984. Vietnam was admitted as the first communist member in 1995 and this year Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia and Lao People's Democratic Republic (Laos) will also join this forum on its 30* anniversary to achieve the vision of a Union of all 10 Southeast Asian states in ASEAN. But due to recent political turmoil in Cambodia-coup against first prime minister Norodom Ranariddh by second prime minister Him Sen, may delay the entry of Cambodia expected to be granted on 23rd July, 1997 in the meeting of the Foreign Ministers of ASEAN to be held at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Article Details